Skirmishers

A couple of days ago, I finished a battalion of Hanoverian militia, to go with the one I painted two years ago. Finally they could have a proper, albeit small, brigade. At that point I ran into a new problem that I haven’t had to deal with before: skirmishers.

Black Powder rules are very basic on this point. They only exist for French forces, and when you use them you place two bases in front of the rest of the battalion to simulate the skirmish line. 

General d’Armee is, as usual, much more detailed. Every battalion contributes a single base of skirmishers towards a combined brigade skirmish line. This is pretty cool but it also looks pretty bad. There’s not much skirmish line about two or three bases of infantry in front of the brigade.

Here’s a pic of my Hanoverian brigade which still only consists of two battalions.

 

They were too clumped together, so instead I peeled them off their bases en rebased them on Napoleon at War skirmisher bases turned sideways and the results look much better I find.


This means every battalion will contribute two small bases instead of one large, but will still be compatible with my opponent who only has the single large base option.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑